President's Welcome

Welcome to the South Carolina Emergency Management Association. Our mission is to curate the principles of emergency management through professional development. SCEMA provides a platform for members to network and interact with other emergency managers across multiple disciplines.


SCEMA coordinates the SC Certified Emergency Manger program, the only state-level emergency management certification in South Carolina. Highlighting best attributes and goals every emergency manager should strive for, the associations' strategic plan outlines the goals of the association and will guide the organization.

Please contact us at any time to ask about becoming a member. We welcome your membership, ideas, and contributions.



Erik Hayes, President

Meet Our Executive Officers

Erik Hayes


Mario Formisano

Past President 2017 - 2019

Kimberly Bailey


David Zeoli

President-Elect 2019 - 2020

Gretchen Birt


Strategic Plan



Members include: Josh Morton, Mike Bedenbaugh, Eddie Murphy, and Carissa Medeires


Members include: Louis Walter, Steven Batson, David Zeoli, Tom Dunn, and Cindy Grace

Legislative/58.1 Review

Members include: Doug Bryson, Kim Stenson, Scott Krein, and Jason Patno

Media and Technology

Members include: Derrec Becker, Kimberly McLeod, Stephen Combs


Members include: David Zeoli, Randy Webster, and Kim Stenson

Caucus Groups

College & University Affairs

Members include: William Winn, Tom Russo, Maz Learner, Rodney Boyd, and Lynn Fisher

K-12 Schools

Members include: Alan Walters, David Beaty, Chuck Earles, Mike Taylor, Kevin Wren, Mike Miller, Tim Knight, Mike Poole, David Grissom, and Chris Ellisor

Public Health

Members include: Leslie Osborne, Erik Simensen, Jay Daniels, Jim Walker, Jessica Joseph, Doug Warren, and Wendy Lee 

  • Like Us on Facebook
  • SC Emergency Tweets

©Copyright 2021 by South Carolina Emergency Management Association 

Mission Statement

To serve the emergency management community by providing information, professional development, and networking through state and local agencies, private industries, and volunteer organizations to advance the emergency management profession.