Award Nomination Criteria

Director of the Year
  • Director may be paid or volunteer

  • Held the director position for a minimum of 4 years

  • Be nominated by elected officials, EMA volunteers, EMA staff, or other public safety officials

  • Demonstrated leadership qualities

  • Member of SCEMA for at least 2 years in good standing

  • Attends at least 70% of all area meetings

  • Attends SCEMA workshops

of the Year
  • Involved in disaster preparedness, mitigation, response, or recovery 

  • Does NOT have official role in an emergency management organization 
    (e.g. teacher, commissioner, mayor, etc.)

  • Promotes and supports local or state emergency management

Agency of the Year
  • Recognized EMA office 

  • Compliant and in good standing with SCEMA

  • Comprised of at least one individual who has been a SCEMA member for at least 2 years

  • Made significant improvement(s) or difference in their community to mitigate, respond to, or recover from a disaster

Amateur Radio Operator of the Year
  • Licensed Amateur Radio Operator in good standing with the FCC

  • Contributed to the success of the emergency management profession or specific emergency management organization

  • Demonstrates a willingness to help others acquire their radio license

Outstanding Contribution to the Profession of the Year
  • Acted beyond the call of ordinary

  • Contribution(s) is well documented which could include photos, newspaper articles, web articles, or videos. 

  • May be affiliated either as a volunteer or paid staff member of an emergency management organization

  • SCEMA member in good standing for at least 1 year

  • Holds an outstanding record on mission participation